Welcome Larry Pickett!

We would like to introduce you to the newest member of our BGS Advising Team! Larry Pickett joined the BGS family to advise students within Colin’s former service area. Larry isn’t new to Western, he worked here as an Assistant Professor of Military Science. In his former position, he was an instructor for Military Science and for Western’s very active ROTC program. He was also able to visit local high schools and community colleges in recruiting efforts for ROTC. We’re so glad he joined us! Our students will definitely benefit from his experience and expertise.

When asked, Larry was kind enough to provide us with his own introduction and a little background information…although he seemed less than pleased to have to write about himself:

I am a retired Army Officer and have served in multiple leadership and staff positions in both training and combat units. I completed my Military career while serving as a Civil Affairs officer where I coordinated and developed Civil Engagement plans and projects with local leaders, non-governmental organizations and Department of State representatives. My previous collegiate experience was as a WIU ROTC Instructor in Advising and Counseling undergraduates. I earned my Bachelor of Arts in History from Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, Kentucky and my Master of Education degree from Western Illinois University in Macomb, Illinois.

My hours of work are the same as the BGS Office: Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. with an hour lunch at noon. I will happily engage with students on the phone at (309-298-1929), or in person (my office is in Horrabin Hall 6 on Western’s Macomb Campus) and I welcome all your inquiries to address any advising questions. I will promptly answer emails and recommend that you use my email as the primary source of contact (LH-Pickett@wiu.edu).

I look forward to assisting any and all BGS students as they continue to work on completing their BGS degree.

Leave a Reply

